Blue Fish with Caramel Sauce

Recipes

I tend to order fish when I eat out way more often than when I cook at home. Not because I can’t cook it, more because I always cook it the same way, and it always seems to be served with a delicious sauce that I never dare try to replicate at home. Well, today I get a wild hair and decided I wanted fish for dinner and went to Whole Foods to see what they had. I was so excited to see Blue Fish because it is one of my favorites and I’ve been dreaming about the last time I had it with a Vietnamese Caramel Sauce that was to die for. I decided that tonight was the night that I was going to try to replicate it but more carb friendly and soy free. Of course, all I bought at the store was the fish, so I had to come up with the sauce with what I had on hand at home. 

Below is the recipe that I came up with. It’s not exact, but I think that it replicates the favors quite well, and it tastes good, and that’s what really matters the most. 

  
Blue Fish with Caramel Sauce

  • 2 – 4oz Blue Fish filets
  • 1T lemon juice
  • 2T coconut aminos
  • 20g coconut sugar
  • 1T fish sauce
  • 1/2tsp fresh grated ginger
  • 1T extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cilantro (if desired)
  • Green onion (if desired)

Coat the fish with evoo and salt and pepper liberally. In small sauce pan combine sugar, fish sauce, coconut aminos, ginger, and lemon. Heat to boiling and reduce heat. Simmer until sauce coats the back of your spoon. 

In a screaming hot cast iron pan, cook fish skin side down for 3 minutes. Turn and cook 2-3 minutes until cooked through. 

Top with sauce and cilantro and green onions if desired. Enjoy!

  

Leave a Reply

